October 20, 2014 - Detroit, Michigan - EyesOn Design will present its 2015 Catalyst Award at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) to automotive veteran Robert Lutz.

Lutz, who has held top executive positions at BMW, Chrysler, Ford and General Motors, retired as vice chairman from GM in 2010. Currently, he is a senior advisor at Katzkin Leather Interiors and a partner with Gilbert Villarreal in VL Productions.

He's also the first repeat winner of the Catalyst Award, having earned it in its inaugural year of 2012.

Given annually to an executive who has empowered great design, the Catalyst Award will be presented on January 13, 2015 in the Cobo Center Atrium during the NAIAS press preview days.

It will be given by Patrick le Quement, the former senior vice president of corporate design at Renault, and the 2015 recipient of the EyesOn Design Lifetime Design Achievement Award.

Patrick le Quement was a designer at Ford of Germany in 1976 when Lutz, the president of Ford of Germany, advocated his promotion.

"Bob became my mentor. I would consider that he had the biggest influence in the development of my career as a design manager," said le Quement, who held top design positions with Volkswagen Audi and Ford of Europe before joining Renault. 

The Catalyst Award is sponsored by Lacks Wheel Trim Systems.

It is one of five EyesOn Design Awards to be presented at NAIAS. The others are:

EyesOn Design Award for Best Concept Vehicle (sponsored by Dassault Systemes)

EyesOn Design Award for Best Production Vehicle

EyesOn Design Award for Innovative Use of Color, Graphics and Materials (sponsored by Axalta Coating Systems).

And new for 2015: EyesOn Design Award for Best Designed Interior (sponsored by ABC Group).

 These awards are given to the best examples in their categories of the vehicles making their North American or worldwide debut at the Detroit auto show.

 The awards, the only ones of their kind, are chosen during the NAIAS preview days by the active and retired design heads of automotive manufacturers and the transportation design chairs from the top automotive design schools. The media is invited to attend the awards presentation program.

For more information, visit the event website, or contact Judi Dara at (313) 824-4710. Sponsorship information, contact Cyndy Doherty at (313) 515-9050. Media inquiries, contact Kathy Lightbody at (313) 587-6677.