EyesOn Design announced the winners of the EyesOn Design Awards at the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) on Tuesday during the show's press previews. The Awards, honoring vehicles making their auto show debuts in Detroit, were selected by over 30 judges. The judges are active or retired heads of design at automotive manufacturers and chairs of transportation design education programs. Chief judges Ralph Gilles (SVP - Product Design, Chrysler Group), Jack Telnack (retired VP of design, Ford Motor Company), and Chuck Pelly (chief creative officer of Intersection) discussed the merits of each finalist and the winner during the press conference. 

The Volvo Concept XC Coupe took home two awards: the Award for Innovative Use of Color, Graphics, and Materials, sponsored by Axalta Coating Systems, and the Award for Best Concept Vehicle, sponsored by Dassault Systemes. Thomas Ingenlath, SVP of design at Volvo Cars, accepted the awards.  

Other finalists for Innovative Use of Color, Graphics, and Materials were the Audi allroad shooting brake Concept and the Toyota FT1 Concept. The other finalists for Best Concept Vehicle were the Kia GT4 Concept and the Toyota FT1 Concept.

The 2015 Ford Mustang won the award for Best Production Vehicle. Joel Piaskowski (design director), Doyle Leston (design chief, interior), Kemal Curic (design manager, exterior), and William Mangan (design manager, interior) accepted the award for Ford. The other finalists for Best Production Vehicle were the 2015 Ford F-150 and the 2015 Mercedes-Benz C-Class. 

In addition, Peter Schreyer, president and chief design officer of Hyundai Motor Company, presented the Design Catalyst Award. The Award, sponsored by Lacks Wheel Trim System, gives the year's EyesOn Design Lifetime Achievement Award winner the opportunity to celebrate someone who has supported their work as a designer. This year's award went to Hartmut Warkuss, formed design chief at Volkswagen.

The EyesOn Design Awards at the North American International Auto Show benefit the Detroit Institute of Ophthalmology, a division of the Henry Ford Health System Department of Ophthalmology. 

Media Contact: Kathy Lightbody - 313-587-6677. Please credit photos to Don Wood. 


Thank you to our Sponsors:

Axalta Coating Systems; Dassault Systemes; Lacks Wheel Trim Systems; 

Katzkin, MacuHealth; ASC; JVIS USA; Gfk; ABCgroup; SRG Global;

Ultrasuede; Michelin; Johnson Controls; HARMAN International;

Brophy Marketing Services; Car Design News; Dynasty Media Network; DW3 Photography