Site: Grosse Pointe War Memorial
         32 Lake Shore Road, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI 48236

Date: June 16, 2017, 6:30 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.

Tickets: $175/person; $1500/table of ten

Vision Honored tickets must be reserved in advance and space is limited.
To order your tickets, call Judi Dara at (313)824-4710 or email

The EyesOn Design Award is unique in that voting is limited to automotive designers who have previously won the award. The voting panel for 2017 included Chris Bangle, Wayne Cherry, Willie G. Davidson, Walter de Silva, Patrick le Quement, Tom Gale, Bob Lutz, Shiro Nakamura, Chuck Pelly, Steward Reed, Peter Schreyer and Jack Telnack.

Syd Mead selected for 2017 EyesOn Design
Lifetime Design Achievement Award


Visual futurist Syd Mead has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the EyesOn Design Lifetime Design Achievement Award, given annually by the Detroit Institute of Ophthalmology (DIO). 


In addition, Mead will create the artwork for the commemorative poster for the 30th annual EyesOn Design Automotive Design Exhibition taking place in June. The poster will be unveiled at a media and industry event on February 6, 2017 at John Varvatos in Detroit.


Mead began his career in Ford Motor Company's Advanced Styling Studio but soon went to work for other clients, including U.S. Steel, Celanese, Allis Chalmers and Phillips Electronics and he quickly became known for his futuristic designs ranging from solar-powered unicycles to interplanetary spacecraft.

Mead will receive the award on Friday, June 16, 2017 at the EyesOn Design Vision Honored event, a gala black tie ceremony held annually in metro-Detroit.

2017 EyesOnDesign Poster

Ticket sales, poster sales and general information: Judi Dara at (313) 824-4710
Media inquiries: Kathy Lightbody at (313) 587-6677
Sponsorships: Cyndy Doherty at (313) 515-9050